Egmond aan Zee is the best known of the three Egmonds.
Over 1000 years ago, the town began as a fishing village, but since the beginning of the last century, it has a tourist interest. Both the fishermen- as the tourist past are still evident in the streets found. Prominent on the boulevard state lighthouse Jan van Speyk appearing from the whole village.
The village offers the holidaymaker plenty of entertainment. terraces, restaurants, and a shopping area with something for everyone. In summer there is every week a event village with many entertainment that wonderful on the Pompplein from there you can enjoy an outdoor cafe.
The shops are open all year 7 days a week and accessible for everyone.
The wide beach offers numerous possibilities for relaxation: beach chairs, sunbeds, windbreaks and beach pavilions. There are of course hiking, swimming, sail- and surfing, and it is possible to take part in, for example,: Power Branding Kitten or canoe which will result in an unforgettable beach experience.
The sea and the water
In Egmond aan Zee is traditionally struggled against the water. Over the centuries gone regulated parts of the village into the sea, as in the 18th century
The sea also brought much prosperity, because the inhabitants of Egmond aan Zee earned their living mainly by fishing. They sailed the sea with the Pinck and bomschuiten, ship types that could be drawn easily on the beach.
In the beginning of the 20th century, with the advent of steam trawlers, attracted many Egmonders to IJmuiden and went to live there. Many do still think of the past fishing Egmond, such as the so-called fishermen's cottages and fishing monument.
Prince Henry Foundation is a striking building and was originally a shelter for old sailors. The Museum of Egmond is given a picture of the history. The tour also, organized by the Foundation for Historical Egmond, shows the past.
Egmond aan Zee From the beginning of the last century, very popular with tourists who came especially for the healthy sea air. Especially from the big cities were young children a guest in one of the many colony houses. High above the village stands the lighthouse Jan van Speyk out 1834. This tower was in 1838 chosen as J.C.J of Speyk monument, in memory of Lieutenant-to-Sea, who prefer to fly in the air than to give his ship over to the enemy, Belgians. He crossed the supply of powder on board to 5 February 1831. Apart from Speyk, also found 25 other crew members and a number of Belgians killed in the blast.
A little further on is the modern rescue station of the salvor KNRM. The rescue station Egmond has been involved in several famous strandings on the coast.
As a foundation year of Egmond aan Zee is often called the year 977.
When would Walgerus, a gentleman farmer from Egmond-Inside, ten houses have had to sculpt the sea. These houses were intended for a number of poor families, who were allowed to live there for nothing. They were allowed to fish in the sea and the only condition that allowed these Walgerus, was, they would donate ten percent of their catch to the abbey at Egmond-Inside.
In honor of St. Agnes Walgerus had built a church. This church has become the current Old Catholic St. Agnes church on Front Street.
1 January 2001: Bergen,Schoorl and merge to form the new municipality of Bergen. This creates a municipality with a 21 kilometer coastline, a varied landscape of beach, dunes, sea, woods and fields and a rich cultural past and present. Would you like sympathizer more involvement in Egmond aan Zee on google to find a website Dorpsvereniging Egmond aan Zee Pearl